Loading
 
 

 

Advertising Starts From $5/- USD | Know More
Explore : 
ID: 3402

Paleriders Cambodia
National Road 6, Samroeng Village
Baray District
Kampong Thom Province
Cambodia


kampong thom, Cambodia

Member Since : November 2013
Customer Reviews : 10


Reviews for Paleriders Cambodia
  Results 1 to 10 of 10
Subject :Paleriders Tour – February 2012
Thank you Owen for a wonderful holiday! By joining your Paleriders tour we experienced so much more of Cambodia than we would have on a conventional tour. Your organisation and management skills kept everything running smoothly. The riders and bikes, the 9 seater van and passengers, our luggage, accommodation, meals and rest periods, even over a long section of unsealed road, which was sometimes very rough and dusty, but none the less made enjoyable by a happy and compatible group of friends. (Especially the ones in the air conditioned van). Special thanks must go to Paleriders (Sreyda, Mr Geoff and you). Thank you Mr Lucky and our van driver Mr Chandra who were at all times helpful & courteous, and last but not least our fellow travellers who have helped make this trip a happy and memorable one. Highlights were a visit to the Helping Hand Orphanage to meet Hong, his wife Thon and “The Family” – a lovely group of children. Meeting Meng Aun, the staff and children at the Jesus school in Phnom Penh which was established to provide education to the children of the rubbish dump workers. Also a visit to a small school under construction in Chuuk Saht Village in Kampong Thom Province. All three supported in some way by Paleriders. Crossing the Mekong River by barge, and watching the sunset over the water. Visiting an incredible bamboo bridge over the Mekong. Mingling with the locals at some of the villages to partake of some of their delicacies. An elephant ride was a must and a tour of the temples at Angkor Wat. Thank you, and best of luck for future tours. We are spreading the word.
Linda Cremen, Deeragun Qld Australia

Subject :Paleriders – Cambodia February 2012 Tour
As I sat watching yet another brilliant sunset on my last day in Cambodia upon completing the Paleriders tour, I reflected on what had been a most wonderful and amazing trip. For a somewhat novice rider, I was extremely nervous about navigating the Cambodian roads and traffic. The nerves passed relatively quickly as we embarked on day one towards our first encounter with the chaotic Cambodian road network. Thankfully, the bikes were very easy to ride and I was amazed at how amid the chaos on the roads, the flow just seemed to work. The routes taken were tailored to the level of experience just right for the group, travelling at a comfortable pace with stops along the way. We explored hidden temples where few tourists go and experienced how people live, the same way they have for 1000 years. We had the absolute joy of visiting an orphanage supported by Paleriders, and played soccer with the kids. We witnessed spectacular sunsets, saw rare freshwater dolphins and rode across the Mekong River on a bamboo bridge. There was something different to see and experience every day, and the people we had the pleasure of meeting along the way made it very special. The whole journey was very well organised, ensuring we captured as many sites and experiences as possible, having a support vehicle and guide, with good accommodation booked in advance. The food was good and the array of Cambodian beer was plentiful. Owen’s obvious passion for the country and to see the support he and Paleriders gives helped make the whole experience unforgettable. I highly recommend this trip for those who want to get off the typical tourist trail and meet the beautiful people of Cambodia and experience how they really live. This was my introduction to Cambodia, the real Cambodia, and I loved every minute of it. I very much look forward to the next trip. Akun!
Karina Lynch, Townsville Qld Australia

Subject :Paleriders – Cambodia May – June 2013 Tour
Many of the Khmer locals thought that spending a week riding a 100cc Daelim ‘postie’ bike for several hundred klms from Phnom Penh to Siem Reap via the wilds of the Mekong valley, was frankly a silly thing to do for fun on your annual leave. “Why?” was the usual response. However, for me, the opportunity to step into the real Cambodia, an absolutely ancient country with people who, in my life time have seen such horrors, to meet the real Khmer people, to eat with them, play with them, be with them, and, as I found out, to experience their unique cultural calm, was just too good to miss ….. and doing it on a motorbike just rounded off the experience. Now a 100cc Daelim isn’t quite a Honda Goldwing, so ‘touring’ takes a slightly compromised genre. But I have to admit, the plucky little four strokes puttered us around valiantly, and with roads sometimes not in the best state of repair, I was astounded at how tough these little bikes were. The owner and co-ordinator of Paleriders, and also our trips ‘squadron leader’ Owen Holcombe, (who incidentally is one of those people whose composure remains indefatigable’), assured me that the trip required amongst other things a good supply of patience and a sense of humour. He wasn’t wrong. The experience moved constantly between adventure and holiday. Although sometimes challenging, it was never touristy, and was well considered, catered, co-ordinated and supported. I would recommend a Paleriders Cambodia run to anyone with a penchant for motorbikes and pushing the boundaries of their comfort zone……albeit just a little..
Tim Bentley, Cairns Qld Australia

Subject :Paleriders – Cambodia May – June 2013 Tour
Arriving in Cambodia for the first time and the thought of finally doing a Paleriders tour was an exciting feeling. After meeting up with our fellow riders, Owen and his wife Sreyda in Phnom Penh on the first night I knew the ride we were going to undertake was going to be very enjoyable. Setting off on our first morning to rendezvous with our bikes for the first time was exciting and sure enough when we rode them for the first time over a bamboo bridge to an island on the Mekong River they lived up to all the expectations. The passion and work that Owen does for the less fortunate Cambodian people was evident in the orphanages that we visited on our trip and the fact that 10% of the cost of the trip is donated to various orphanages, charities and other projects that Owen undertakes is a very gratifying thing. We noticed at the first orphanage through the simple but very appreciated donation of sacks of rice, clothing, washing powder and toiletries (all things we take for granted), the smile on the children’s faces is a simple reminder of how fortunate we are. The places that Owen took us to on the ride were real examples of Cambodia and through himself and Sreyda they give you an excellent insight into how the everyday Cambodian works, lives and relaxes. I would not hesitate in recommending a Paleriders tour to anyone who wishes to experience the real side of Cambodia and it`s people. Through Owen & Sreyda’s love and knowledge of the country and it`s people you cannot go wrong and as for the mighty Daelim bikes they have got to be one of the most robust and enjoyable bikes you could wish to ride, it is not all about the bikes on these tours it`s about the journey and the experiences you capture on the way and to have done it with my fellow riders, Owen and Sreyda made the trip a very memorable one and we have all agreed we will be doing it again soon.
Warren Poynting, Vientiane Laos PDR

Subject :Paleriders – Cambodia May – June 2013 Tour
After months of talking about the possibilities that this ride could present, I finally realized it was about to happen when we all met up at Blue Lime Hotel in Phnom Penh for a meet and greet night. The next day we travelled to Kampong Cham where we were introduced to what were to become our most intimate travelling companions for the next week, the magnificent 100 cc Daelims. The days flowed seemingly effortlessly due in no small part to the organisational abilities of Owen, his ever helpful wife, Sreyda and her cousin, Sakhorn, who drove the support bus. They worked quietly after each day’s activities, preparing for the next whilst some of us were busy exploring the local merchant’s eskys in the hope of finding beer and ice together. We tasted a lot of local ‘delicacies’ with Sreyda always making sure that the kitchens of wherever we had the meal were doing things to her standards. We saw evidence of the tumultuous history of Cambodia at some of the places we visited and were made mindful of the atrocities that these gentle people endured. Because I know Owen and consider him a friend, I wasn't too sure whether I should be super critical or lenient with my assessment of the trip. I decided to be honest. Being aware of the organisation required to bring it all together and the enjoyment value of the experience, then I would have to say that it was a truly positive and memorable holiday. If you are looking for a five star holiday, I wouldn't recommend this trip. If, however, you are looking for a five star experience combined with a lot of friendly fun, contact Owen and go on a Paleriders – Cambodia ride.
Phil Bentley, Brisbane Qld Australia

Subject :Paleriders – Cambodia September 2013 Tour
Three ladies with a sense of adventure were not disappointed when they enlisted the assistance of Owen from Paleriders to organise a holiday with a difference through Cambodia. The trip was thoroughly enjoyable. We did not opt for the motorbike option, instead went in the support vehicle. Along on our journey was the wonderful Sreyda, Owen’s wife. Sreyda was great to have around as she was able to translate and bargain for us. She stepped in and took command in small restaurants to ensure that food provided was of the highest standard. We found ourselves in a variety of hotel settings, from over-the-top ornate through to quite basic, however every hotel had air conditioning, free WiFi and hot water. We ate at local eateries for most meals and thanks to Sreyda’s high standards and kitchen inspections we remained in good health for the fortnight. Owen and Sreyda were able to provide us with an insight into the real Cambodia, we had stimulating conversation around the troubled history of the country and it’s possible future directions. We heard first hand of the inequalities in Cambodia – this is not the kind of conversation you would engage in on a more mainstream tour. Experiences had on this holiday are of the calibre that make you reassess your own western middle-class lifestyle in the most gentlest of ways. Owen is particularly well thought of, and welcomed in many of the places we visited. I suspect this is a direct result of his ability to open his big Aussie heart to the people of the country he now calls home. I would urge anyone looking for a holiday with a difference to contact Owen via Paleriders and get involved in a tour of Cambodia. Owen and the Paleriders concept is testimonial itself that one person, with one small vision can make a large difference. Thank you Owen for taking us (the Three Barangs) on such a wonderful journey. I look forward to visiting Cambodia again.
Kirschty Birt, Marian Qld Australia

Subject :Paleriders – Cambodia September 2013 Tour
As we flew into Cambodia we had an appreciation for the amount of water we were going to encounter on our journey. Everywhere we looked from the plane window there was water, water, everywhere! That afternoon, after we had an opportunity to check into our room we met with Owen and Sreyda. From that very first meeting we knew we were going to have an amazing experience. Owen and Sreyda are very generous people with big hearts and are very conscious of the needs of travellers; the diversity of cultures and what we needed to experience. We’d be travelling along and all of a sudden the bus would stop and there was an opportunity to buy some nice pastry or bread; the next stop – fried tarantula, or if you didn’t want to eat them you could let them crawl over you! These pit stops added to the experience and for some delighted their taste buds. It was an exciting trip as you would never know what was around the next corner. For me, the trip was about meeting the people of Cambodia and being part of their community. We had several opportunities to visit schools, orphanages and to stay in Owen and Sreyda’s village. We were there at a time of celebration and were welcomed and made to feel very much a part of it. We saw some amazing temples, met some amazing people who open their hearts and share their homes, we gave generously on behalf from those from the Gin Gin craft club who had sent almost 300 t-shirts with us to hand out, and we also provided funds along the way to buy school books, a bike for an orphanage, rice for the kids to eat and had an opportunity to sit at school desks we had previously donated and to participate in English lessons. If you would like an experience of a life time, contact Owen from Paleriders. I am not an adventure seeker hence why we took the bus as opposed to the bikes. Lots of laughs, lots of time to reflect but most of all very generous hosts. Sreyda is one of a kind and with Owen’s support will ensure you have a journey to remember.
Delvene Read, Middlemount Qld Australia

Subject :Paleriders – Cambodia September 2013 Tour
Recently I have had my eyes opened to the wonders of Cambodia with thanks to Owen and Sreyda. Although a small party of three we feel we were given the full experience and had quite a memorable adventure. Owen and Sreyda are the most warm and generous hosts whose personalities complement each other. Sreyda was a force to be reckoned with when liaising with the locals to ensure a fair deal with food and shopping. Owen, an expat, who is ready to share much of the history, culture and his knowledge of a country he is passionate about and has called home for many years. Our trip was during September/October 2013, a time when the mighty Mekong was in full flood and our itinerary had to be changed, which was of no great concern, as we still managed to experience the most amazing villages, temples and food, quite often with no other tourists around. The accommodation organised was neat and clean and at times quite impressive, and the choice of restaurants we ate at often had a small western menu if required. We travelled Cambodia in the comfort of a van, a fact we were grateful for especially in the last two days when it actually rained. While travelling we had the opportunity to stop at any time if we saw something of interest or just to take photos. There was no sense of deadlines or time limits which added to the enjoyment of the trip. To Owen and Sreyda I wish all the success with Paleriders- Cambodia and I thank you wholeheartedly for making my holiday so jam packed and exciting.
Sarie Thomas, Mackay Qld Australia

Subject :Paleriders – Cambodia November 2013 Tour
Hi my name is Darryl Smyth and I would like to share my recent adventures on this tour. On a short scenic bus ride to collect our bikes we drove out of the organised mayhem of Phnom Penh though the natural beauty for which Cambodia is known. That afternoon we took a short ride to an orphanage where some of the cost of the tour is put into produce for the children. Where as little as shampoo, toothpaste, and fresh water means so much. On the first couple of days we rode north following the majestic Mekong River system, crossing it several times by barge. You will take in the vastness of the countryside and the simple living of the locals, riding through villages (un-congested), waving and smiling at the children as they cheer you on. Some of the roads are dirt and potholed after the wet which only enhances the adventure of the tour (which is what it is all about). Accommodation on the ride north is situated on the mighty Mekong River which is the life blood of Asia, weaving its way through several countries. I was taken aback by the freshness of the local food and the vast supply of thirst quenching organic fruit on offer. Rice, noodles, vegetables have a clean, delicious flavour of their own (do your body a favour). Accommodation is what I would call 3 star, big beds, a/c, toilet, restroom, TV; I don’t think you will do any better in the area. There were many highlights on tour, but for me and fellow riders it would have to be dropping in on schools, handing out pencils, writing pads, tooth paste/brushes which we brought over, a very small price when you see the smile and gratitude you receive on their faces, look into their eyes, words cannot describe how such a small gift means so much. In summary, the itinerary is extensive. Accommodation was second to none. Meals are absolutely indulging. I would also express my thanks to Owen and his forever helpful staff for such a memorable not tour, but adventure. JUST DO IT!
Darryl Smyth, Mackay, Qld Australia

Subject :Paleriders – Cambodia November 2013 Tour
Owen how are you? The trip was very enjoyable. The plus points were the people we met and the charitable donations made to the needy, I admire your dedication to helping people less fortunate. The only negatives were the old bikes, I think you need something more robust with more power­. We were ripping the guts out of them to try and keep up, also you should have a contingency plan if a bike fails as Evan’s did. As far as I’m concerned you have just to fine tune it to be a good business. In the morning at breakfast you should show us on the map where we are going, I know we had an itinerary but would have liked to have known about roads etc and sights to look out for. I feel as if I’m nitpicking but these are my only negatives. I wish you every success in the future, it was a pleasure meeting you, Sreyda and the rest of the boys. Keep in touch.

John Boyd

Company Director, Waterside Motors Ltd

Largs, Scotland

Note from Paleriders – Cambodia. We’ve taken on board John’s recommendations for improvement and on future tours will ensure that we discuss the route each day before departure. With regard to the bikes, we chose to run with the Daelim bikes because they are what most Cambodians ride in rural areas, they are very robust, easy to ride and parts are readily available. As the tour leader, I’ll ensure that we maintain a slower pace in future. There really is no need to rush on a Paleriders tour, the stages are kept short so there’s plenty of time to stop, take photos, meet the locals. If a bike fails on the trip we will make every effort to repair or replace the bike, in Evan’s case he wasn’t feeling well and was happy to travel in the car for the last couple of days so the bike was put in the van to be repaired later.
John Boyd, Largs, Scotland