An Giang

An Giang Province Tnh An Giang Geography Capital: Long Xuyen Region: Mekong Delta Area: 3,406 km Districts: 9 People Population: 2,128,800 Ethnicities: Viet, Khmer, Cham, Hoa Government Council Chairperson: Nguyen Minh Nhi Committee Chairperson: Le Phu Hoi Map

An Giang (written identically in both English and Vietnamese) is a province of Vietnam. It is located in the southwestern area of the country, sharing a border with Cambodia to the northwest.

An Giang occupies a position in the upper reaches of the Mekong Delta. The Hau Giang and Tien Giang branches of the Mekong are the dominant geographical features of the province. With the exception of the west, most of An Giang is fairly flat, and is criss-crossed by many canals and small rivers. This terrain has led to An Giang being a significant agricultural centre, producing significant quantities of rice.

Politically, An Giang is divided into nine districts: An Phu, Chau Phu, Chau Thanh, Cho Moi, Phu Tan, Tan Chau, Thoai Son, Tinh Bien, and Tri Ton. The cities of Long Xuyen (the provincial capital) and Chau Doc, both of which are located on the Hau Giang branch of the Mekong, exist as independent municipalities.

An Giang first became a province in 1832, having been settled by ethnically Vietnamese migrants moving southwards in search of new land. It is believed that An Giang was once an important centre of the vanished Oc Eo culture, presumably owing to its position on the river. Traditionally, An Giang has been known for its silk industry.

An Giang is home to a sizable number of people from Vietnam’s ethnic minorities. Due to the province’s proximity to Cambodia, the Khmer are the largest non-Vietnamese group. Other groups, such as the Cham and ethnic Chinese (Hoa), are also found in An Giang.

Leave a Comment