Cebrayil is a small town situated at an altitude of 600m, in the southern foothills of the Nagorno Karabakh mountain range. A stream, which flows through the Jebrail, dries out in summertime. Until 1950 Jebrail was merely a village but its population increased a lot in the following years. It is the capital of the rayon of the same name with a territory of 1050 sq. km., separated from the Iranian province of Eastern Azerbaijan by the river Araz. In the pre-Soviet period the present area of the district was part of the Jabrail uyezd, formed in 1875, which was even larger.
After the fall of Fizuli to Armenian forces, Jebrail and almost the entire rayon were lost to Armenian forces in August 26, 1993 and has been under Armenian military control ever since (see map).

The railway built along the Araz, that once connected Baku to Nakhchivan now lies abandoned, on the other hand the road parallel to both the river and the railway is still important, carrying the traffic to Armenia and Iran.

he population of Jebrail had to move eastwards, and today is spread all over Azerbaijan, to this day some still dwell in refugee camps.

Jebrail borders the Nagorno Karabakh territory but is not claimed by the Armenians, as such it is currently occupied as part of their ‘buffer zone’ and left derelict and abandoned. The town has been cannibalized for all kinds of materials by both Armenians and Iranians. In pre-war times the area earned their living from cash-crops, in particular cotton – dubbed by the locals the white gold of Azerbaijan.

The most picturesque scenery in the vicinity is a huge poplar (tulip tree), which is believed to be one thousand years old. Outside Jebrail, in the village of Khalfli , an ancient watch tower still stands, allowing a great panorama over the region. The ruins of two remarkable 12th century bridges can be seen in the village of Khudafarin .