Congo Travel and Tourism

Republic of the Congo , also known as Congo-Brazzaville or the Congo, is a country in Central Africa. It is bordered by Gabon, Cameroon, the Central African Republic, the Democratic Republic of the Congo, the Angolan exclave province of Cabinda, and the Gulf of Guinea.
The republic is a former French colony. Upon independence in 1960, the former French region of Middle Congo became the Republic of the Congo. Congo became a multi-party democracy in 1992. However, a brief civil war in 1997 resulted in the overthrowing of democratically elected president Pascal Lissouba and the installation of former President Denis Sassou Nguesso to power. About half the population live below the international poverty line of US$1.25 a day.