Dialects in Dutch

Dutch dialects are primarily dialects that are cognate with the Dutch language and are spoken in the same language area as the Dutch standard language. However, some dialects in adjacent parts of German North Rhine-Westphalia, where German is the standard, actually stand on a shorter distance to Dutch than to High German and could therefore also be called Dutch. They are Low Franconian in character and are called Dutch. They are Low Franconian in character and are called Meuse-Rhenish dialects.

The province of Friesland is bilingual. West Frisian language, not being a Dutch dialect, is spoken here, while Dutch is the standard language. A (West) Frisian standard language has also been developed.
Dutch dialects are remarkably diverse. The Netherlands have quite a lot different regions and various dialects.

In the east there is an extensive Dutch Low Saxon dialect area: the provinces of Groningen (Gronings), Drenthe and Overijssel are almost exclusively Low Saxon, and a major part of the province of Guelderland also belongs to it. The IJssel river roughly forms the linguistic watershed here. Although this group, not being Low Franconian, is very close to neighbouring Low German, it is still regarded as Dutch, because of the super ordination of the Dutch standard language in this area ever since the seventeenth century.


Leave a Comment