National Park of American Samoa

The National Park of American Samoa is a national park on the American territory of American Samoa, distributed across three separate islands: Tutuila, Ofu, and Ta’u. Authorized by Congress in 1988, the National Park Service entered into 50-year leases for all park land from Samoan village councils on September 9, 1993. The park includes coral reefs and rain forest and is popular for hiking, snorkeling, and scuba diving, although the primary purpose of the park is that of preservation of Samoa’s unique natural resources. Of the park’s 9000 acres (36 km), 2500 acres (10 km) is water area.


The Tutuila Unit of the park is accessible by car on Tutuila, the main (largest) island of American Samoa. Two easy access points exist. 1) Drive from Pago Pago Village towards Fagasa on the paved road to the top of the ridge (Fagasa Pass), where a small parking area and NPS sign mark the trail head for a trail that goes along the ridge above Pago Pago to Alava Mountain. 2) The eastern side of the park can be reached by crossing over the ridge above the north side of Pago Pago Harbor from the village of Aua over to Afono. From Afono, continue along the paved road towards the west, entering the park boundary on the ridge above Afono Bay. The road continues on through the park to the village of Vatia. Beyond the school at the far western end of Vatia is an NPS sign marking a trail out towards Pola Tai.