Sichuan Province

Sichuan Province is located in the centre of China, bordering Tibet, Qinghai, Gansu, Shaanxi, Chongqing, Guizhou and Yunnan Provinces. The Yangtze river goes through the south east region of Sichuan Province.

Both the capital Chengdu in Sichuan and neighbouring municipality Chongqing are well worth a visit. For Chengdu alone, you need at least four days to see the sights and a few more days to make excursions to Mount Emei, Leshan, and Jiuzhaigou. Allow an extra ten days or so to journey and stay in the Tibetan Prefecture (Dege County) at the Dzongsa Buddhist Monastery.

Chongqing has not actually been a part of Sichuan Province since the early 1990’s, when it became a special municipality of its own. The city of Chongqing is located between the Yangtze and Jialing Rivers. It is the starting point for Yangtze River cruises.

Leave a Comment