Tayrona National Park

The Tayrona National Natural Park (Spanish: Parque Nacional Natural Tayrona) is a protected area in the Colombian northern Caribbean region and within the jurisdiction of the Department of Magdalena and some 34 km from the city of Santa Marta. The park presents a biodiversity endemic to the area of the Sierra Nevada de Santa Marta mountain range presenting a variety of climates (mountain climate) and geography that ranges from arid sea level to 900 meters above sea level. The park covers some 30 square kilometres of maritime area in the Caribbean sea and some 150 sq km of land.

The park has an area of 150 square kilometres. It is located in the jurisdiction of the Santa Marta municipality, in the Department of Magdalena, along the north coast of Colombia that borders on the Caribbean Sea.

Taganga is its most southern part; its western boundary goes toward the northeast following the coastline, including a kilometer of sea area, until the Piedras River.

Animals and plants
Scholars have done an extensive classification of animal species living in the park, which include about 108 species of mammals and 300 species of birds. The black howler, the oncilla, the deer and more than 70 species of bats are among the park’s typical residents.

The park’s 300 species of birds include the white eagle and alone eagle. There are also approximately 31 species of reptiles, 15 species of amphibians, 202 species of sponges, 471 species of crustaceans, 96 species of anels, 700 species of mollusks, 110 species of corals and 401 species of sea and river fish.

There are more than 350 algae and more than 770 species of plants.


Leave a Comment