Wellington s the capital of New Zealand, the country’s second largest urban area, the most populous national capital in Oceania and the southern-most capital city in the world. It is in the Wellington region at the southern tip of the North Island, near the geographical centre of the country.

Wellington was named in the honor of Arthur Wellesley who was the first duke of Wellington. The title of Lord Wellesley is derived from the town of Wellington which is a county of Somerset in England.

Wellington is New Zealand’s political centre, housing Parliament and the head offices of all Government Ministries and Departments, plus the bulk of the foreign diplomatic missions based in New Zealand.


Tourist attractions in Wellington are many. It has beautiful natural harbor, green hillsides and exotic colonial villas. The Wellington region has a huge reserve of thick forests and regional parks which covers an area of 500 square kilometers.

Sightseeing in Wellington includes the Victoria University and Wellington Botanic Garden. The garden occupies about 25 hectares of protective forests and different cornifers. The garden is also famous for the Rose Garden which houses different varieties of roses.

Other important buildings of Wellington include : The Museum of New Zealand, The Museum of Wellington City and Sea, Old Saint Paul’s, The Colonial Cottage, The Katherine Mansfield Birthplace Museum, The New Zealand Cricket Museum.

With around 400 cafes and restaurants, Wellington’s inner city has the highest concentration of eating establishments in New Zealand, earning it the tag ‘Cafe capital of New Zealand’.