Yucatan Peninsula

The Yucatan Peninsula, in Southeastern Mexico, separates the Caribbean Sea from the Gulf of Mexico. The peninsula lies east of the Isthmus of Tehuantepec, a northwestern geographic partition separating the region of Central America from the rest of North America.

The peninsula comprises the Mexican states of Yucatan, Campeche, and Quintana Roo, the northern part of the nation of Belize, and Guatemala’s northern department of El Peten. Mexican states situated on the isthmus to the west of the peninsula include Chiapas and Tabasco and is directly within the hurricane belt.


The Yucatan contains plentiful archaeological zones, exotic environments, and three major ecosystems. Popular activities in the region include jungle tours, deep sea fishing, boating, kayaking, wind surfing, spelunking, and exploring the many Mayan ruins.

Leave a Comment